Learning Photography as a Beginner

After I finally took a leap and purchased my first camera, I became instantly overwhelmed by all the different buttons on my new camera.

After flipping through the manual that it came with, I realized that I needed way more resources than that small little booklet, so I turned towards my dear friend Google!

After reading a lot of reviews and comments, I found a book called “Sony Alpha a6000/ILCE-6000 Guide to Digital Photography” written by David Busch that was written solely for users of the Sony A6000! I read through the reviews on Amazon, and definitely wanted to give it a try. Unfortunately, it was sold out on Amazon, so I purchased the e-book. I’ve only gotten to Chapter 3 so far, but it’s an excellent tool, especially when I have the camera next to me and I don’t have to pause a video; I can just read and learn at my own pace.

001987882-hq-168-80

While I’m better suited at learning through reading, I also found amazing videos on YouTube that helped a lot. Tony Northup has an hour long extensive video on learning the basic functions, which is really great! I also came across some videos on YouTube that aren’t specifically for the Sony A6000, but are great for beginners like me to learn some tips and tricks on digital photography. One YouTuber that I liked was Jana Williams, and I would really recommend checking out her channel if you want to pick up some little tips on shooting.

If you have any other guides or videos you would recommend, please let me know, I would really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

